About / Maidir le

The Tipperary GAA Archives web site was the brainchild of Ed Donnelly (Moycarkey-Borris) and PJ Maxwell (Nenagh Eire Og).

The Club Championship roll of honour exists in numerous forms in GAA publications over the years. Ed worked to convert all of this information in to PC format and also looked to validate the County Final winning captain for each year from Minor C all the way up to Senior. With the assistance of the clubs of Tipperary, roughly 75% of all Tipperary County Final winning captains have been confirmed and can be found by searching this web site.

The Tipperary teams section was the brainchild of PJ Maxwell. It is a privilege and honour for any player to wear the Blue and Gold of Tipperary, not only for the individual but also for their club. PJ spent many hours of research putting together the list of every Tipperary player from 1886 to the present day. On occasions where Tipperary played more than one Championship match in a given season, the panel from the last game that year is recorded. The result is a list of over 17,000 names which can now be searched for in a number of different ways. Thanks again to the clubs of Tipperary for validating your County players to ensure that 97% of all players listed are included with their full Christian name.

The technology to bring to life all of this content was provided by Irish Web Headquarters led by former Tipperary All-Ireland winner Mark O’Leary. The web site will be updated on an ongoing basis in to the future to ensure the content is kept up to date with the latest information.

Finally, this site was commissioned as part of the 125th Anniversary committee of the Tipperary County Board and funded by the Board. We hope you enjoy your visit to this site.

We would love to hear your feedback – please send any comments through the Contact Us  section of the web site.